Trying to build a flashcard app

I’m wondering about the best way to store the images I have so I could possibly(?) randomize them when the app is opened.
Also wondering if there is a way to animate an image (card flip/reveal) as it appears…I see that Lottie’s an option, but I have no experience with it.
Any advice and recommendations are appreciated :slight_smile:

2 Likes

If you have a predefined set of images then you could use Airtable tables and save the images in the Attachment field. You can then refer the those images by the URL that will be supplied by Airtable.

Cloudinary is another option and you can upload images at run time (images selected by the user for example). Again you will reference the image by the URL returned from Cloudinary.

3 Likes

Yep, in addition to what @muneer said, you also have the option to upload them directly to the project/app as assets. The limitation, of course, is that you won’t be able to add or remove images from the app without publishing an update to the app store(s). But the display of those images will be faster than a cloud solution.

Cloudinary is really nice because you can do image transformations using simple url codes. So doing something like displaying a lower-quality or smaller or cropped or rotated image is really pretty easy.

Lottie animations aren’t too difficult to add to a project. There are examples of how to do this on the forums and in the documentation.

And yes, you can randomize just about anything you like in Thunkable: list items, row #s, column #s, image filenames, etc. The List and Text block options are very robust.

3 Likes

@muneer and @tatiang , thank you both very much! Great ideas. I am leaning towards baking them directly into the app. They are images of rank in the Canadian Armed Forces and will likely never change :slightly_smiling_face:

@tatiang, is there anything I should know about uploading them assets for the project?

Yes, I’d go with a direct upload then.