Google Map Markers From Firebase

Hello,

I’m pretty new to Thunkable but having a great time. I’m creating a map that shows a list of movie filming locations all around the world. I have an Airtable set up with a list of 900+ locations.

Currently, I’ve got the map loading up in the app— but it’s taking FOREVER to load all of the locations. In fact, each time it loads a new marker, the app forces the map back to your current location. Should I be using something like Firebase instead of Airtable?

I’m also curious as to if there are some links you guys could point me to that cover the following:

• Clicking on a marker and then having a button pop up that will allow you to jump apps to Google Maps in order to get directions.

• Potentially only loading the markers that are in the location surrounding you/“search within this area” function. Which may speed up the load times.

Thanks so much,

Morgan

1 Like

Firebase is much quicker, and I think easier to update, however you cant have assets in there. If it is pure coordinates, then yes firebase is better.

But 900 locations is well way to much to do synchronously.

Let me think on this. I would like to see what others say about it.

1 Like

Thanks very much for your reply. Unfortunately it’s not just coordinates— I’ve got lat, lng, name, and snippet (and ideally, later, photos). I’ve got Firebase set up with my google sheets, so I can update the database through sheets— unfortunately I’m having a really tough time creating markers using Firebase.

@albert made a nifty app that maps trees, which is similar to what I’m doing. I was able to take his code and it point it towards my own airtable, but unfortunately the lag of this many locations makes the app sort of unusable. Would love to know how to modify his code to point to a firebase or maybe even the actual google “my maps” I built the locations into.

Here’s alberts great tree, uh, tree—

and here’s my Firebase DB I’m attempting to port over into said tree—