[SOLVED 2/1/24 6:05 AM EDT] Creating Unique Order ID

Hello to Everyone!

I am new to Thunkable and I am trying out some new functions.
I was wondering if someone knew how to generate a unique order ID for each order placed in the thunkable app and saved into Google sheets?
I am not sure if this is something I should do in Thunkable or if it should be configured in google sheets?

Thank you for your help.
Have a great day!

Yes , of course.
What kind of ID you are looking for.
You did a search in the community? :point_right: HERE

1 Like

Thanks for the link I will check it out!

1 Like

Anyway when you use google sheet as database , when you create a new row the block itself give you a unique id for that row
Edit
@minasmith123

row

I am wondering if there is a way to generate a unique ID for each order placed in the app. When the order is placed it will be stored in google sheets with a unique ID generated.
When the user logs in they can see only their own Orders from that google sheet.
I don’t know if this makes sense, I would just like to know if this is possible or if I should be looking at other ways?
Thanks for your help!

Hi, if your problem is the unique ID you can use The unique ID provided from Google sheet or create a new one as you like (only number , alphabetic, alphanumeric, etc ) .
If your problem is to show only the order of a customer you have only to make a search to find the right customer and get the data .

Probably Google sheet is not comfortable to store this kind of data because is a sequence of rows , you can’t organise a lot .
Firebase or a dictionary let you store data in a different way, you can store data under a key (like a folder) so you can create a unique ID and inside save all data (name, mail, order, etc )

1 Like

I will try to use Firebase in this case. Thanks for your help!

1 Like