[Solved] How to query a Database (Airtable) in Thunkable?

Hi there,

I’m trying to create a simple dictionary app that will search a column of an airtable database for a user-entered string, and if it a match exists, then display the definition I’ve written (which is stored in another column of the same table). I think this is a pretty simple query, but I can’t find any blocks in the airtable section that seem to deal with queries directly.

I tried to get a SQLite extension (which seems to have querying built in), but I just found out I can’t use extensions with Thunkable X.

So then I think I need to write the query manually, but I don’t know how to do this. Do I need to dump the data from that column in airtable into a variable or list, then search the list somehow? Or can I query the airtable directly? If so, which blocks do I use?

I’m new to this, obviously. Thanks to anyone who has time to spare to help!

1 Like

OK update…

Here’s what I’ve done:

I’m asking the user to enter a string.
Then I’m asking the AirTable to put one of its columns into a list. Then I’m checking the list for a match with the user-entered string. If I get a match, I want to output the item index from the list (which should be the same as the row number). Then I want to take that row number and look up another column from the same row and display the text in it. This seems really simple, but I’m getting muddled with all of these drawers and functions.

Am I just missing something here- is Airtable not designed to be queried like this?

Please help.

2 Likes

OK Update again… maybe this is just for me as I solve my own problems!

I just figured out how to get the index for the row by doing it as a listpicker instead of a search for comparing, then making a JSON object out of the correct row! Cool!

HOWEVER, I would still like to find a way to implement user search. Is there any way to pull the index (row number) out of a given column as a variable, if it’s not a ListPicker function?