How do we change button/label height in code?

I want to code it so that a label’s height (can also be button’s height) to change when a variable is changed. However, there is no “set label height to” block for the new Thunkable Drag and Drop version. Is there a way I can code this? Or do I have to use an image instead?

2 Likes

Welcome to Thunkable.

This feature is currently not available in the DnD (new) version. It can be found only in StP (old) version

1 Like

This is certainly one way to do it! I am working on an app in DND and that is exactly what I did!

I used icons8.com but You could also create them in figma pretty easily!

What kind of app are you building?!

1 Like

I’m new to thinkable and I’ve just discovered I cant set the width or height in blocks for any components - frustratingly the documentation shows this setting is available in the drag and drop interface Button - Thunkable Docs
https://docs.thunkable.com/v/drag-and-drop/image-1#width

Ultimately I’m struggling to understand how I can stop my components from stretching on wider screens?

Welcome to Thunkable.

Note that Thunkable has two UI designer platforms, StP (Snap to Place) and DnD (Drag and Drop). It seems to me that you are using DnD and viewing the documentation of StP or the other way round.

If you are using StP the just set the size of your your component as absolute so that it stays as is despite of the difference device sizes.

[Edit]
I just checked the documentation again and I believe there is a mistake. In DnD there is no option to change the size. This option is only available in StP.

hi thanks
yes the documentation for UI components in DND is incorrect - I’ve spent ages trying to figure why I couldn’t see the setting!
anyway I see I can set this in the STP version but is there a way to convert my DND app to STP - there doesn’t seem to be an obvious option/convertor?

1 Like

Unfortunately NO. You will have to start from scratch.

1 Like

oh not so good -