How can I store data under/retrieve from a sub-bucket in a Firebase project bucket?

Hey everyone, I hope you are doing good!
I feel really glad to be back here after a very long time :grinning::wave:

I am developing a project in which this time I’ve chosen Firebase as my main database (this is my first time working with firebase). In this project, I mainly have two things I need to store - stores & their orders. So I needed a data structure format that would make it easy for me to retrieve any order data easily.

I’ve come up with a database format idea that looks like this :

Let me explain the whole workflow. When someone posts an Order, the Order ID becomes a sub-bucket key, and the order’s details are that sub-buckets’ items. Ultimately, the order gets stored as a sub-bucket under the main bucket of the store.

Now, since it’s my first time using Firebase, I am kind of confused with creating a new sub-bucket (with items in it) under a main bucket of the Store, and how to retrieve any Order’s (sub-bucket’s) details later. I’ve so far tried many combinations of blocks I could possibly think of, and it doesn’t seem to work out. Can you please guide me?

Thanks a lot for reading! :grinning:

1 Like

One quick and easy way to check you data is to add a List Viewer to your screen and in the code add the following in the screen open or button click

This will give you a list of Orders in your database.

You can then use the Item Click of the List Viewer to show more details about the selected order in labels. Such as

Hope this helps.

2 Likes

Thanks a lot, @muneer! Really appreciate your help. I will surely try this out ASAP.
Just a quick doubt, do I need to initialize any cloud variable or just grab image and add name of the bucket in front of it? Just to know, I have my Firebase connected to my app.

Thanks!

1 Like

Initializing a cloud variable can result in overwriting the contents of the Firebase bucket.