Flashcards language learning app?

Hi. I am very new to Thunkable as well as any type of app building. In fact, I rarely use the computer for more than some typing, emails, internet and games. I barely have any experience with coding, having used TurboPascal about 20 years ago, and then for short streaks of some trainings I worked with python and R. I have to say I have always struggled especially with the logic of the argument and with finding mistakes in my algorithms.

So I was wondering, because I haven’t seen many posts like this, if it is ok to write a blog of sorts? May I share my daily progress and perhaps get some feedback? (If it isn’t appropriate, I guess the moderators will just remove this post.) Furthermore, this is a for-the-community effort, so it may perhaps be attractive to someone?

I have been working on this since last Thursday or Friday, and I think I am close to developing a MVP, but it still requires a few touches.

My goal is to make a flashcards app. The idea is simple. On the first screen a word (it may be a phrase, but let’s call it a word) in Slovak appears. The user thinks about the Georgian equivalent, and when they click, the second screen appears with the correct translation. The user then has a choice of two buttons - “I knew”, “I didn’t know”. Both buttons lead back to Screen 1, but if “I didn’t know”, the word will later reappear after some time.

The app uses a database Odpovede that I created, which contains pairs of words - one in SVK the other in GEO.
I use three app variables to store my progress: countswitch, rowID a mistakeDelay. I also use two lists to record the mistakes: neviemCountList and neviemIDList.

If anyone has any suggestions into how to work better with the blocks or with the logic of the app, I will appreciate any advice. I will also be happy for encouragement, because I have been working on this for five nights, and I am looking forward to improve the app.

1 Like