Extract specific row from spreadsheet

I am just getting started with Thunkable, and am having trouble finding some tutorials on a blocker I have. I am pull data from an Airtable spreadsheet. As my first few steps I am trying to figure out how to search the rows and only display specific row. The second step will be then to display only data from specific fields on the row.

I can get to the point where I can see the JSON output!

Screenshot 2020-01-27 at 9.00.42 PM|396x193

This gives me the JSON dump, but I can’t figure out how to only display a specific row. I tried the below, but I just get Undefined.

Screenshot 2020-01-27 at 9.02.28 PM

As a simple example, let say I have 3 columns - First Name, Last Name, Phone. What I am trying to learn is the following:

1. I want to display the row that has the last name of Benson.
  2. Make the the data look normal and not in JSON format
  3. Then take the next step where I show only the row of Benson, but only include the fields that are First Name and Last Name.

I think with these examples, I’ll be able to figure out everything I am trying to do.

Thanks for any help.

I made a demo that shows how to search for a specific row (cell, really) within a specific column:

https://x.thunkable.com/copy/75e46fe9ef167977d555aaa90f5704d9

You can set the searchTerm to a text string and then search for it and instead of deleting the found row, you can display contents from it.

1 Like

This worked great, thank you. Now I am needing to figure out how do I display the JSON data properly - remove the { and ". I can’t quite find a tutorial that walks through that well.

parsing JSON can be difficult at first. both @actech and @darren have public projects on here to demonstrate that. @darren has at least 1 video on youtube about this also!

good luck!