Creating text input "text" from checked checkbox items

I am a total beginner . first time posting help, hoping this is the correct way to interact with this community :slight_smile:

I would like to generate a text output that fills in a text input box from checked boxes.

I create a checkbox list, the user ticks items that they are interested in , those items after appear into a text input box.

Can you please tell me if this is doable and what the code would look like please.
Thank you so much

Hi, welcome to Thunkable! Yes, you’re doing this right. :wink:

What you’re describing is definitely possible and not too difficult. You can use the Join block in the Text drawer to combine multiple text strings into one. Assign that block to a variable and then assign the Text Input’s Text to that variable to display the combined text.

As for check boxes, you’ll need to code it so that when the check box is changed and the value is true, you’ll refresh the combined text.

The one tricky part is that you don’t want to join the existing text… you need to construct the full text from scratch each time they make a change to a checkbox. So the process would be to set the variable to an empty string (“”) and then add any parts based on the checkboxes.

That may sound confusing since you’re new to Thunkable. Give it a go and post a screenshot of blocks you’ve tried and someone can probably steer you to the next improvement.

2 Likes

Hi, so this is what I have done . it does put the text of the checkbox in the text input 2 location but one after the other and not adding them. i’d like to be able to select breakfast, lunch and dinner and see the 3 words in text input 2 and not only one after the other. I have instructed the part one the right first and then created the group like you suggested but I am not sure this is how you meant it.
Bottom part call to ChatGPT was not able to try yet, I have to get more credits.