A few suggested Thunkable features to produce truly professional apps

I have been a professional software engineer for 40 years and am also an astrophysicist who develops apps related to my scientific work. First I would like to say that I am impressed with the range of functionality offered by Thunkable. That said, I am running into situations where fundamental features (that one expects to exist in any IDE) do not exist in the Thunkable IDE. Here are a few that really need to be added to the IDE to increase productivity and/or allow the user to produce top quality professional looking apps.

1. Ability to copy and paste objects that have already been placed on a screen
  2. Text placed in buttons should have these alignment settings: Top, Center, Bottom
  3. Foreground text color settings for buttons (don’t restrict to only black text)
  4. Option to put line borders around layout objects as-well-as around cells within tables.

I have just started using Thunkable, and so I think I will probably find that there are other important features that are lacking. I will give you feedback as I discover more about the Thunkable IDE. I would like to use Thunkable for my Android development instead of B4A, since Thunkable has a more intuitive IDE that does not require extensive setup and clumsy syntax.

Again, I think fundamentally you have a great product in Thunkable, but there are still basic features that it lacks, but needs.

Regards,
Rick Boozer

5 Likes

hola Rick

Hi Andres,
I already knew about centering buttons vertically within a layout object. What I am talking about is centering text within a button vertically. There is no feature to do that in Thunkable.
Regards,
Rick Boozer

puedes enviarme una captura de lo que quieres realizar para intentar hacer una extension

Hi Italo,
Thanks for replying.