Integrating Cloudinary File picker widget for uploading PDF files -- Yaayyyy!

Hi Thunkers,

I have been working on a file picker to allow Thunkable to select pdf (and all other file types) from sources such as local device, google drive, Onedrive, Facebook shutter stock etc…

I have been able to accomplish this on both Android and IOS. Here is where I am up to and how I have done it so far…

What you will need:

1. Free tier Cloudinary account
  2. Free tier Firebase account
  3. Simple editor (I like Visual Studio Code but Note++ will do.)

The Thunkable modules we will use are the web viewer “set url” and “when web viewer receives message”.

First, set up your Cloudinary account and an Upload preset (there is a lot of existing instructions on this so I won’t get into it here)

Create the following file using an editor (I have slightly edited this but I am not a programmer so I am waiting for the experts to have a look.
<–!DOCTYPE html>
<–html lang=“en”>
<–head>
<–meta charset=“UTF-8”>
<–meta name=“viewport” content=‘width=device-width, initialscale=1.0, maximum-scale=1.0, user-scalable=0’>
<–title>JavaScript File Upload
<–/head>
<–body>
<–!--button id=“upload_widget” class=“cloudinary-button”>Upload files
<–script src=“https://thunkable.github.io/webviewer-extension/thunkableWebviewerExtension.js” type=“text/javascript”><–/script>
<–script src=“https://widget.cloudinary.com/v2.0/global/all.js” type=“text/javascript”><–/script>
<–script type=“text/javascript”>
var myWidget = cloudinary.createUploadWidget({
cloudName: ‘replace this with yours’,
uploadPreset: ‘ml_default’ //I used the default but changed to unsigned.
}, //currently using unsigned Preset
(error, result) => {
if (!error && result && result.event === “success”) {
console.log('Done uploading…: ', result.info);
ThunkableWebviewerExtension.postMessage(result.info.secure_url);
myWidget.close();//
myWidget.open()
}
});
myWidget.open();
/*