[SOLVED] Configurable name of variable

Hi I’m new in thunkable and not very expert in programming, I’m stuck so I am asking some help.

In this screen I have variable num_map that can have the value of 1 or 2 or 3 or 4 or 5 or 6 , depending on some user decision in previous screens

so I want to get the content of Text_Input5 and save it to a variable named 10 or 20 or 30 etc etc depending on num_map (num_map + zero digit)

In the text block here I am saving it to a variable named ‘10’ but of course this is wrong.
Is it possible to save it into a variable named as the content of ‘curr_var’ ?
Or should I have another approach?

Thanks in advance.

thu

1 Like

Hi @remox,

It’s best to name variables something that describes their contents… not just a single value but a range of values. So instead of “10” you might call it something like “num_map times ten”.

By the way, it’s fine to append (“join”) a 0 to the value of a string (text) but it does convert numbers to text when you do that. If you want to keep the value as a number, you should multiply it by 10 using a math block.

Why are you having the user input a value? It seems like you have three values in play here:

num_map (from a previous screen)
curr_var (num_map*10)
10 (user input)

But you described the issue as wanting to add a zero to the end of num_map, not the end of Text_input5. So I’m a little confused about which variable(s) should have the extra 0.

If you want to save the value of curr_var, just make it a “stored” variable instead of an “app” variable.

2 Likes

@tatiang thanks a lot for the hints and help

I try to be clearer

it’s a quiz with questions
in this screen let’s say we receive from previous screen a num_map = ‘1’
I display question number 10 (that is ‘num_map’ + ‘0’), the user inputs answer in Text_input5 and I want the answer to be stored in a variable named ‘10’

if we we receive from previous screen num_map = ‘2’ I want that the answer to be stored in variable named ‘20’

1 Like