Read ASCII data with BLE converter

Hi All,

I am new to Thunkable, what I see uptill now it looks promissing.

I try to write/read data to a weighing scale using an BLE/RS232 converter with ASCII protocol.

I found a perfect tutorial om youtube.

I can connect to the BLE converter by Device name. I can read device ID with connect function. I can write to the weighing scale over the BLE converter with transmit Hexadecimal. I now want to read over the BLE converter and here I get stuck. I can read data using a universal BLE terminal app with different UUID than the write UUID.

The weighing scale has a continu RS232 ASCII output. The LED on the converter is blinking, I am sure data is avalible for sending to thunkable.

I both use receive string and receive byte array without succes. I also use function forever and repeat. I also use function Timer1 fires.

Error message: Operation was rejected. When I use a UUID out of range I receive error message Can`t read the characteristic provided

Is it possible to use Thunkable fo this application? if yes how to do it?

Thanks for your help.

I am facing the same issue. but not for weighing application. I am using Bluno beetle in on the application. I could send the data to bluno, using transmit string block, but when read the data using receive string block, I am getting the first character string of what I sent using the transmit block.

In bluno website, they have provided example app to check the bluno BLE operation, with that app I am able to send the command and receive the response on that app. But in the thunkable app, it is not working.

I don’t find any videos or document to read the data from a sensor and display it on thunkable.