Question about Sprite Collisions

I am trying to make my own maze game like the one found on the documentation Gaming section. (https://x.thunkable.com/projects/5d841c3942b03968327aa3b9/23cdf6a7-4c61-46d5-ae84-810e7ba9e3d4/designer)

I am not very experienced in coding. I made my own maze.png file with transparent background. I didn’t make it with individual pieces as in the Thunkable provided version because I would like to have different maze backgrounds so that the player can progress to the next maze when successful. The pumpkin does move around on the background, but when it collides with the maze, it doesn’t return to start. Can anyone spot what my problem is? Here is my file. https://x.thunkable.com/projects/5d87a0f488f93d0b9c855bb4/791401cc-ad9d-4302-ad41-8fb5d5522f39/canvas

Thanks for any help you can provide!

Debbie

1 Like

That is because your pumpkin is never seen to collide with the maze.
The reason the example was made with different, individual sections is that each is a sprite that can be identified, and each is collectively part of the overall “WallType” class. That is, if the ball touches any one of those, then a collision with the wall is detected, and the return to the start can be performed.

What you did with your version is one big drawing without actual walls, with walls outline painted on the floor. There is no logic triggered when passing over a change of colour, the edges of your maze sprite are the edges of the whole canvas. In essence, there isn’t anything for your pumpkin to collide with, and therefore never any collision.

1 Like

So what you’re saying is that the only way to do it is to make each piece of wall a separate sprite? Wow that would make it a lot more difficult to add different mazes. I thought that by making the maze walls one sprite, it was still a sprite (it is not part of the background). That doesn’t make a lot of sense to me in how the program is set up, but thank you so much for the help.

Debbie