List of dynamic numbers, deleting, managing list

I am building a quiz app. User selects a level to play and a level is made up of a series of numbers. I use those numbers to know which quiz problems to load from the localdb.

I created a ‘list’ from two variables. The two variables define numbered rows in a localdb. Example: The two variables could be 6 & 10, therefore the list would look like 6,7,8,9,10, these numbers correspond to rows in my localdb.

Later I delete a value from the list based on which quiz problem they just completed. Example: user completed quiz problem 7, I remove 7 from the list, the variable with the list should look like 6,8,9,10. Then next time I choose a random value from the list it will not include that value I just removed.

My problem is the blocks don’t do that, instead # means to remove the position in the list. And I don’t know how to find the position of 7 from the list.

I’m not a programmer, so this is challenging for me. Are there better blocks I should be using? Is this approach even possible? I’m trying to make it flexible and dynamic.

Do any of the masters have a solution? @jane @drted @darren

You need to search for the list item containing “lesson” (the lesson #) and then remove that item from the list:

3 Likes

@tatiang Omg that fixed it woohoo! Thank you for making my weekend, you’re my hero!

Now off to troubleshoot the next issue

2 Likes

@exploriverse.com You’re welcome!

1 Like

@tatiang Next issue i’m having is with the list block.

On my first screen I set the string of numbers with this list block, it works.

Then I do it again from another screen but the outcome is just 1 number, why is it just showing 1 number and not the string of numbers? The block below setting stored lesson is not working either.

Is this issue again me not using list blocks correctly?

When selecting a random item from a list, you want to follow this algorithm: