How do i take an item from my list in blocks and display that item in a label i've created?

Hi Thunkers!

I am a beginner working on one of my first projects and i came across a problem.
i made a list in blocks and the items include quotes, ig , and i wanted to take one of those items
and display it in the label i had created in my app but it randomly starts changing the text every second. it wont stay one quote and changes rapidly. how do i keep it one at a time?

the image above doesnt show the rapid changing and i cant record it either bu the code:
Screen Shot 2023-06-16 at 7.30.01 PM

Those blocks should only fire when you open the app or navigate back to that screen.

If it’s happening repeatedly and quickly, those blocks don’t explain that behavior.

Can you post a link to your project?

Are you testing in a browser or on a mobile device? If mobile, which device?

1 Like

Hi
i actually found out that i had a code for this in another part of my blocks and that was causing a bug so i deleted those and now its working fine
Thanks for trying to help tho!

1 Like

BUT you can help me by telling me why my label always shows undefined before i navigate to the list screen.
i want it to show a quote without needing to go there
heres a link:
https://x.thunkable.com/projects/6488896fb8100b197f171013/d06efc78-65a6-4a85-9cd2-599142a5e9ac/blocks

Which label on which screen?

the label thats on the screen i have shown

i have to press the see all quote/thoughts button b4 i can see quotes on that label

also its the home page screen

You can edit an existing post on the forums instead of adding so many short responses here.

Unfortunately, I can’t remix your project right now so I can’t look at it: Unble to remix project.

The label is undefined because you are asking it to display a list item from a list that hasn’t yet been defined. In this screenshot, app variable list display has no value so the list item assigned to app variable quote is undefined.