Determine if a JSON Property is a List

For a JSON object, properties can be numbers, text, objects, or lists. I am working on a app/screen that can display any JSON object, so the structure will not be known in advance. In my experience, unknown/changing data structures are common.

For example say I have the following JSON object:

I am having trouble determining if a given object property is text (Name, Desc) or a list (List). I tried using the list LENGTH OF block, but it returns the same value as the text LENGTH OF block.

I started playing around with various text-parsing strategies, but as many E.T.L. programmers will attest, these strategies are brittle.

Does anyone know how to determine if a JSON property is text or list (or object) programatically without parsing the results of GENERATE JSON FROM OBJECT block?

Thanks,

Ted

Lists are typically identified by square brackets [ ]. Thunkable’s list blocks do not use square brackets for some reason. They also do not use speech marks to define a string in a list.

True, JSON lists are bound by , JSON Objects by {}, and text by “”. I’m trying to avoid parsing text if possible.

As far as parsing goes, here is what I have. Again, I don’t trust parsing text, but I might have no other choice.

There is a block to get object properties list: “get object properties of__”. Essentially after converting from Json to object, use this block to get the top level list of properties, then use those to point to the object. if there are more level down, can use it again at that level, and so on. Then you design how you want to display it on the screen.

Thanks for the suggestion. I do know about the GET OBJECT PROPERTIES. It does retrieve a list of the NAMES of the properties, but it does not indicate what type of data is in the property (list, object, number, text). Or am I misunderstanding your instructions