JSON to List Help

Hello

I am struggling to query this JSON in Thunkable X. I can do it in app inventor.

Seems like it should be a simple thing to create a list of names from “name” field from this JSON.

Does anyone have any advice.

Thanks

I’m also looking for an answer to this issue. I can generate a list view if there is only a top level item in the database, but if there are children it doesn’t show anything.

Any help or pointing to an answer would be appreciated.

You’ll need to do some tutorials on lists and indexes to make sense of this. I built a small assistant that gives me weather…the code is in JSON and I had to pick each item I wanted her to speak from the list

2 Likes

So far all I’ve got is the blocks below, which return me the value of “The Timber Floor Centre”. My aim is a list “Red Rooster, The Timber Floor Centre”.

1 Like

I’m still new to coding myself, but I’m not sure the “Object” blocks you have there are the best for what you’re doing. If you’re pulling from a JSON list, use the “List” blocks available. Again, you’ll have to sit down with the output and find the index numbers of each item you want. At least that’s what I was taught when doing my assistant

Try this link/tutorial for some good info about pulling items from a JSON list: Easy to decode large information with JSON format

@David_White, You’re on the right track! You probably want to create a variable somewhere and initialize it to be an empty list. Then add the value that you are currently assigning to your listofplaceslabel to that list using the 'in list __ insert at last as __' block. That way you’ll build up that list to contain all the place names.

-Mark

The Object blocks were created, in large part, to support dealing with JSON results from Web APIs, so I think it’s perfectly appropriate for David to use them here. The tutorial that you’re linking to is for Thunkable Classic, which doesn’t contain Object blocks.

-Mark

1 Like

ahh! That’s good to know!