Control Email using IFTTT

Hi

I have read the following thread:
http://community.thunkable.com/t/how-to-use-ifttt-in-thunkable/19612

and am struggling getting to this to work using Thunkable X Cross Platform and would like to know if this is the only way to send an email from ios and Android without it opening the email app.

My issue is that when I created the account in the IFTTT site it did not give me any “key” that is mentioned in this tutorial (very good guide though) and I do not see to be able to see the same blocks used here either.

I would appreciate any help with this please

Thank you

TimCS

1 Like

Hi there,

The Web API component in X has slightly different blocks to the Classic Web API component.

The blocks from the Web API docs show how to display the response:

It takes slightly different steps to get to the Webhooks page of IFTTT, but you can see it at that link.

Hi Jane,

Thank you for your reply. Sorry for being dumb as you probably can tell I am new to Thunkable (although I have coded in other languages) and am trying to understand your post on where the example you provided ties in with the guide from my link.

Also (I know this is IFTTT) the guide mentions about a key that IFTTT provide but when I set up this email webhook on their site, no key was provided. Have IFTTT changed this or have I set up the email webhook incorrectly ?

I am surprised however that Thunkable does not have a built in way of allowing an app to send an email without the use of 3rd party interfaces or am I missing something here? I did see a couple of plugins mentioned but I suspect that these are at a price (well the first one is anyway)?:

http://community.thunkable.com/t/paid-new-extension-emailsender-smtp/66847

This also mentions another one called sendmail and the link to this site seems to mention various ways about this, is this correct? do these work with X cross platform?

Thanks

TimCS