Colors in stored variables

I’m an absolute beginner. I have a button and want the App to save the last clicked color of the button, so when I close and reopen the App I know what the last button was, that was clicked. Because of the difference in color between the design screen en the Blocks screen you have to set "when screen1 opens set to button’s background cloor to…So it doesn’t work with a stored variable.

1 Like

Hey @frederikdeclercq44o1, welcome to the Community :wave:

At the moment though you’re not storing the colour values in your variable - is that the issue?

1 Like

I tried storing it but, it doesn’t work because: "when screen1 opens set background color to…
If you don’t use the block “when Screen1 opens” switching colors doesn’t work.
I want the App to store the color of my button; I don’t care how. Let’s say it’s an exercise App and when I’ve completed an exercise I push a button and it turns green. The next week when I open the App I want it to show that I have finished the exercise and the button is green. Adding a reset button …turning the button to the starting color.

I’m not sure what you mean here - this was my approach and the value is stored between sessions.

1. Test for the initial, empty state and set the button to the default colour
  2. Write the new value to the variable every time a change occurs

Try it out:
https://x.thunkable.com/copy/03bcaaddf3b516407723bd8266b16f81

3 Likes

Hi everyone
Just like @frederikdeclercq44o1 said, if I store something in a variable, it resets the next time open the app.

Then you aren’t using stored variables correctly.

Post a screenshot of your blocks.

1 Like

Thanks, it kind of works. Sometimes I have to click more then once to change the color? Sometimes 3x sometimes 2x …
I’ve added a clear button and removed some colors.

Schermafbeelding 2023-09-21 115733