Buttons look normal in test, but bad in app

I’m new to Thunkable and have built a basic timer app as my first app. It looks great and works great in the preview and design environment, but when I push it to my phone (iOS), the buttons get all wonky.

Here is what it looks like in preview:

And where is what it looks like on the phone:

The size of the buttons were set on the design tab if that makes any difference.

Any thoughts on what I did wrong and how to fix this?

1 Like

Unfortunately, screenshots of the app rarely provide enough information for troubleshooting.

Can you share a link to the project? If not, then screenshots of the properties for those buttons and their containers (e.g. screen, row, group) would be needed.

1 Like

Good feedback on the screenshots. Thank you.

Here is a link - Thunkable

I was hoping this was in the older Snap to Place interface because you have more control over sizing and positioning there. But it’s the newer Drag & Drop interface.

I reported this issue here:

I recommend adding a comment with a link to this topic. Official bug reports often get resolved quicker than forum posts.

2 Likes

At the moment the rendering of all components in the DnD is larger than the allowed area of the screen.

Temporarily, to get around that make the screen scrollable.

1 Like

Thanks, @tatiang for looking into this. Glad that I’m not losing my mind.

Do you want me to submit this as a comment in Github?

Thank you @muneer. I’ve made the pages scrollable and will report back when the download is available.

@muneer Thanks for the suggestions. Made all pages scrollable and unfortunately, it didn’t change the size of the buttons. Still looking like wonky rectangles.

If I replaced the button with a clickable image, would it have the same result?

Other ideas on how to fix this for iOS? I wanted to use this for my son’s tournament this weekend, so putting some pressure on myself to finish this up.

Thank you again.

1 Like