Address Book App HELP

I am looking to create an app that stores contacts such as a name and number. I would like it to be able to select a specific contact, and display the number associated with that contact. While being stored persistently. I am pretty new to Thunkable, and I was hoping for some help! SOS

1 Like

Have you tried Firebase, AirTable, or Local DB?

I am not even sure what that is tbh. This is for a class, and it is my first experience with coding. Im a business major lol so im lost…

I wouldn’t learn firebase first. It’s awesome, but you’re going to be happier with Google Sheets or Airtable as a first learning attempt, because they’re spreadsheet-like, and as a business major, you probably are pretty comfortable with spreadsheets! :slight_smile:

What have you done so far? Where are you stuck?

1 Like

Well persistent storage is completely confusing to me…

@catsarisky

This is where I am at.
https://x.thunkable.com/projects/6078425c3bf6fd00146fbc50/aecb3c15-9b95-40d1-9081-b168558adc91/designer

Persistent just means that it’ll still be there when you restart the app. App variables and localDB are NOT persistent - any changes you make to them are gone when you restart the app. All your other options (i.e. Google Sheets) are persistent.

1 Like

OK, great start! The only problem is that you’re storing in a localDB, which isn’t persistent. Do this: Create a new data source (look for the + button under datasources), and this time, pick a Google Sheet. (You’ll need to log into Google SHeets and make a blank spreadsheet to link to Thunkable first.)

Then you can do /exactly/ the same operation, but using that Google Sheet instead. And you’ll see your Thunkable changes show up in the Google Sheet.

2 Likes

The Local Storage in the Data Sources option is also persistent so it can be selected.

2 Likes

What do you suggest be done?

^^ that?

Right, but isnt local persistent?