Why doesn't my timer work the way I want it to?

Hi, I’m pretty new to Thunkable and a little bit confused as to why the timer stops working when a sprite of “sprite type 1” is clicked for the first time?
The way I see it, everytime a sprite of “sprite type 1” is clicked, the timer should start from ten and a certain number of sprites should be relocated (or newly created). But as I can tell from testing the app, all works perfectly fine until a sprite of “sprite type 1” is clicked. Afterwards only the score goes up when ever such a sprite is clicked.
Furthermore, the app doesn’t always act the same when started. Sometimes no sprites appear at all.
The only reason I can think of as to why this is, is that they are too many blocks in “game”, but I’m not totally sure, why I hope to get some help from you.

Do you see any mistakes in the script?

There are some more blocks only concerning the sprites’ speed, which I cannot post due to the limitation of pictures.

The game is supposed to be similiar to this one minigame from “Super Mario 64 DS” called “Wanted!”.

can you try nesting statements? in the ‘then do’ section? i wonder if there is a reason you didn’t do that, perhaps?

1 Like

Hi @michael.wulfers4ylq9,

I am not exactly sure what you want to achieve but to me one issue seems to be that I cannot find any event that starts the timer and also no event when the timer fires in your blocks.

https://docs.thunkable.com/timer

Best, Chris

1 Like

First of all, thank you for answering so quicky.

In the second picture at the top the timer is set to 10 and in the third picture at the top the timer is started, isn’t it?

Hey,

you set a variable to 10 but I cannot see any block related to the timer component.. Or am I getting you wrong that you want to start a timer that fires an event after a certain period of time once a sprite is touched?

assets--LAn5scXl2uqUJUOqkJo--LAn5wecEraNWaG7Ig2g--LAn6DqxCHVuFGG2lVMd-timer-✕-fig-1

Best, Chris