Web API doesnt work

Hi,
I am completely new to thunkable, but I had a closer look at the docs of the Web API and also tried to follow this tutorial: Web API - Thunkable Drag and Drop UI - YouTube .
Unfortunately, it doesn’t work at all!
I followed the youtube video step by step but nothing happens when I press on the “shorten” button.

Here is a link of my “test” project:
https://x.thunkable.com/copy/7172a0114140008f6a38a9e49c174cf8

1 Like

Can you explain what doesn’t work.

Remember, most API servers work from the phone not from the computer.

I just ran your app on my phone and this is the outcome.

I also noticed it works on a phone in Thunkable Live but not in a browser. That API also seems to take a long time to generate a response. It has taken up to 10 seconds for me.

1 Like

Hi,

I also have the same issue as op. What does the below mean?

I have the same app, one is drag & drop and the other isn’t. I am able to test the “not drag and drop” one on the browser, but the “drag and drop” doesn’t work. Both work on my phone.

It’s a bit of an issue if I can’t test API calls on the browser as I’m developing the app.

Thanks for the help.

2 Likes

I’m not sure why many APIs don’t work when previewed from Thunkable in a browser but they don’t. You’ll need to check and most likely do your testing on a mobile device.

Without seeing your project or screenshots of your blocks, there’s no way we can help you troubleshoot this.

If the API call works as a url in a browser then it should be possible to get it to work using blocks in Thunkable in either the older Snap to Place interface or the newer Drag and Drop interface.

1 Like

This link to the test project is Thunkable. The thing is, the API call works fine when you preview it in that link. But when I’m inside the project and do the “Web Preview”, it doesn’t work at all. Quite frustrating.

1 Like