Trying to extract a nested list from a Web API

I am new to Thunkable and trying to correctly extract data from a Web API from AWS. I have scowered the forum but haven’t found much that was able to help me unfortunately. I’m not sure if I am just still a beginner or I am missing something small.

Basically I can correctly get the entire response and output that, but when I am trying to break apart the response into different categories so I can put it into a list viewer, I keep getting weird responses.

This image is what the JSON looks like that is being sent across.
thunk1

This image is what my Thunkable blocks look like. Currenty I am outputting the complete response string straight to an alert and trying to extract the “locations” information into text. But I have tried a few different variations of the objects blocks and haven’t been able to successfully get anything. Majority of the time I keep getting null and I have no idea why.

Here is my curent block setup.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

The “locations” property is returning a list of objects (key:value pairs such as “name”: “string”). The List Viewer component in Thunkable requires a list of text strings.

You definitely need to [get object from JSON] from [response] and then from that, [get property “locations” of object]. You’ve done that for Alert1’s Title in the screenshot above so that should work to return that list of objects.

How are you wanting to parse the information below into a List Viewer? That is, what would the List Viewer look like if it did work?

thunk1

Can you post the full JSON response you’re getting as text?

1 Like

EDIT 1: Just reread your message and when I output this “You definitely need to [get object from JSON] from [response] and then from that, [get property “locations” of object]. You’ve done that for Alert1’s Title in the screenshot above so that should work to return that list of objects.” - I get [object Object]