Translation Error - Invalid Parameter: Text

I’m pretty new to Thunkable and I’ve been going through David Wolber’s book on it and doing the lessons. I’m working on a translation app. Basically, it is supposed to work by you speaking into the phone and it will translate what you say on the fly into Spanish and then display it on the screen. If you say the word “cat” or “dog”, it is supposed to display a picture of a cat or dog on the screen too.

I’ve laid out the blocks as in the book and gone through them repeatedly, but I can’t get the program to function properly. Sometimes the translation works. Other times, it returns at error that reads “Invalid parameter: text”. And I don’t seem to be able to get the pictures to load under any circumstances. You can find the project here: Thunkable

I’ve done enough reading to know that some people have had trouble with the Yandex API key working but I’m really not sure if that’s the problem here since I don’t seem to be able to duplicate the issue with any consistency. Any help would be much appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

Hi @jim.malmberg38, welcome to Thunkable!

When I check the value of the green error block, I get this result about 1/4 of the time I speak a word or phrase:

1110/The operation couldn't be completed.
(kAFAssistantErrorDomain error 1110.)

I’m not sure what that error means and I haven’t found anything online about it. My best guess is that that error is returned when there is no sound detected. Hopefully, someone else will read this and have an idea about how to resolve it.

1 Like

Thank you for taking a look. Really appreciate it. I’m just not able to duplicate the error with any consistency. The only thing that seems to be consistent is that the pictures won’t load, and I really don’t understand that.