[Solved] Why can’t I save and retrieve data from Firebase?

Hello! I apologize if I’m posting a bit too often, but I encountered a few more (and hopefully, my last!) issues. (I’m using the DnD UI btw!)
In the first picture, what I’m trying to do is save in a realtime DB the user’s ID, along with their email, the message written in a text input and the pictures/videos taken/chosen from their gallery. I attributed to the variable ‘list’ an empty list, as it’s shown below. The first issue is that nothing changes in the DB (I may have not accessed it correctly, I’ve watched some tutorials but I’m pretty new to all of this and still learning!)
Nothing has been added to the DB no matter how many times I try, and for some reason, every time I try to snap a photo or choose a picture or video from my files (as it’s shown from the second picture until the last), the app crashes.
I have 3 images + 1 video added to the design and they act as a list.
I’m sorry if there’s anything that’s been explained vaguely, please ask me if there’s any more info needed. Thank you so much once again!

This is always the first thing I troubleshoot. If you cannot add a value to Firebase or get a value from Firebase, then it’s not going to make sense to try to do something really complicated like storing photos. We’ll get there but for now, let’s keep things really simple so there aren’t too many variables we have to contend with.

Can you save a simple value like a text string (“test”) to Firebase?

If not, have you entered your authentication information for your Firebase account in Thunkable? Have you set the Realtime Database rules to allow access in your Firebase Console?

If you’re still having trouble, post a screenshot of the blocks you’re using for this simple test.

3 Likes

Something so simple… I can’t believe I forgot about the rules!! I changed the .write from ‘false’ to ‘true’ and it did the trick! Thank you a lot!! :blush:

2 Likes