[Solved] Need Help Decoding a JSON Response

Ineed some help with decoding json responses from TicketMaster for an event search querry.

How do I display the event name, venue name, etc.? I am new at this and I am not an expert.

What I want my app to do is to list events for a particular classification name, city, state, and start date and display the response

with the event name, date, time, venue, city and state.

My api query is responding with the json however I don’t know how to decode and dipsplay the fileds that I want.

The json begins with _embedded, then events, then name, type, id, etc. (See attached powerpoint) If I display name, I get and undefined error.

Then I tried event, name and I get a blank screen no errors,

I am using the Thunkable X app sdk and the attached powerpoint shows how I am trying how to do it.

Thanks

Charles

Can you give me a URL you are using to get the JSON and I can take a look

You can PM me if it has a secret API.

@Charles_Casteel, The key here is understanding a little bit about the way that JSON text represents lists and objects. When you see something that begins with a '{' ( for example '{ _embedded: { events: ... ' ) that means that that the JSON text represents an object. When you see something that begins with a '[' ( for example '... [ { name: "Adam Sandler", ...' ) then that represents a list. It get a little more complicated, of course, because objects can contain lists within them and lists can contain objects within them.

In your case, we can see that the JSON returned by the Ticketmaster API call here represents an object with a property named "_embedded". The value of that "_embedded" property is an object which in turn contains a property called "events". The value of that "events" property is a list of objects representing a single event, and each of those objects has properties named "name", "type", "id", ... and interestingly "_embedded".