[Solved] MQTT Support - Bring back extensions

I’ve recently switched from MIT AI2 to Thunkable for my mobile app coding platform in our curriculums. Thunkable’s live testing and easy integrations make this an easy choice, however, lately I’ve been having some remorse due the inflexible nature of Thunkable. In some ways, it’s greatest asset is its greatest curse.

Google recently disabled students from using Cloud Services in the education workspace unless they are over 18. This means my students (and pretty much all MS/HS students) can not use Firebase, and thus they cannot use Thunkable to create their own apps in school.

I am a capable developer and would like to create my own MQTT service and real-time database, however the new Thunkable X does not have this capability (only WebAPI, no Extensions). We really need the ability to add extensions (ideal) or have a web sockets component built into the app. Thunkable risks continuous loss of functionality based on 3rd party limitations. Please advise, since Firebase as a teaching tool is dead.

2 Likes

Extensions will not be possible in Thunkable X as Apple does not allow them.

Speak to Apple and convince them to change their mind. If they do then you can ask Thunkable to allow them.

In future please search the forum as most queries, or requests like yours, have already been addressed.

2 Likes

I’m running into this issue with Firebase restrictions as well. I’m in contact with Google about it but I doubt they will make any exceptions. They’ve opted for no access and no features for various products (e.g. YouTube) versus trying to compromise and allow students to use products for educational purposes.

2 Likes

This is probally not going to happen cuz’ Thunkable is a cross platform,
And there for is written in a language that is supported on android,iOS and web so ai2, kodular of niotron extensions wont work.