[Solved] Can you compare Text Variables? (Selection Sorting by Title)

Hello! I’m new to Thunkable and I wanted to know whether you are able to compare Text Variables with each other - (For Eg if A>B then print A). My above code isn’t working. I’m trying to sort a list using selection sort according to the title in ascending order (For eg. Base, Cake, Area -----> sorts to Area, Base, Cake) which I will then run into a Binary Search Function with an input.
Please guide me as to where I’m going wrong. Thank you!
Again, thank you for your help! I really appreciate it :slight_smile:

1 Like

Welcome to Thunkable.

Text is text and is not converted to ASCII value so A+1 will become A1 and due to the fact that the loop is expecting a number it will fail an nothing will get executed inside the loop block.

Sorting values inside a list is done by the sort block in the Lists drawer. You do not need any code to do that.

1 Like

Thank you so much for replying @muneer !
I’m actually doing a project for my CS Class - was trying to implement a proper code for sorting (for complexity points :smile: ).
Is there any way to compare Text Variables in Thunkable?

ps - Happy Birthday to you!

1 Like

This is a project I did to demo sorting complex objects. See if it helps you.

https://x.thunkable.com/projectPage/60d78e2a5e21e600110b78b4

Thanks for the project link! Just went through it. Saw you sorted it through Value 1 (which holds integers)

Just wanted to know if Text Variables can be compared somehow. For example -

If A>B
Print A

how would I code this in Thunkable? I felt like comparing Text Variables should be a feature.

1 Like

Yes you can. In my project I’m comparing values but if you replace the values with letters it will work for you the same way.

Just remember one thing. In text comparison it is taken position by position not he whole string with the whole string so even the letter case (Small or Caps) will make a difference.

Try this