A simple method to get free media for your app

Introduction
Hi all! In what is my first Creator Lounge post in over a year, I’m hoping to help some Thunkers with a breakdown of the method I’ve used for a while now to get free, reputable media features for my Thunkable X app. I first mentioned this tip in an episode of The Millennial Entrepreneur Podcast, which you can listen to on Spotify or iTunes.

For those of you who don’t know me, hi – I’m Ayush, an 18-year-old student near London, England. It’s great to meet you! I’ve been using Thunkable for almost 4 years now, and my flagship app, Veggie Alternatives, has been featured across the media – including many times by the BBC, in HuffPost, Entrepreneur and more - all completely for free!

So – why does media help your app and how do you get featured? In answer to the first, good media coverage can really rocket your app to success. It can bring you hundreds, if not thousands, of new users, and can both professionally and reputably showcase your app for the world to see. For the answer to the second, just keep reading…

Before you reach out to journalists
Before you try to get media for your app, you need to consider whether your app is complete. By this I mean:

• Is your app the best it possibly can be? Does everything function as it should? If not, go back, review it and make the necessary changes. Get as much feedback as you can too – if the people you ask like it, there’s a higher chance that journalists will too.
  • Does your app (and its store listing on app stores) look attractive? The way an app looks is the first thing a journalist will see before they even use it. If it looks good, you’ll have a higher chance of them wanting to feature you in an article. See this for help here. I also recently redesigned the UI of Veggie Alternatives and will be sharing how I did that on here soon!