Stored variables

I love the stored/cloud variables-- it something I’ve been pushing for a long time and have talked with Mark about. I think it can be a game changer for beginners and building apps with persistence and shared data.

I started playing around and am having trouble with building a simple noteTaker app. I have defined stored noteList but when I try to insert an element it crashes (well, the op doesn’t work). I tried first setting the stored noteList to empty list, but that didn’t work either.

Are there any samples, especially with list data?

2 Likes

I played around some more, I think the insert at is not working with stored variables. I was able to create a list with the list block, and its stored persistently, but I can’t add items to the list

I am still using the variable created with the procedures for list items

1 Like

Hi and thanks. What do you mean by “the variable created with the procedures for list items”?

Sorry you are having issues but I am glad to hear that I am not the only one having this problem. I can’t seem to modify any list stored in a variable. That includes adding, removing, or modifying any list item.

@Mark Are you aware of this issue?

Sorry, Dave. That’s a known issue. See this post and some of the following ones for more details from Paul.

-Mark

Hi Mark. Good to know, thanks,

Dave

@AcrobatEpee means this:

The two upper purple and orange blocks show the solution. To create more variables please click on the gear-symbol in the upper left of the purple block.

1 Like

Yes, @User81 has exactly what I said ! The time I figure out how to use the new variables, that’s how I am doing it :slight_smile:

Thanks and sorry for the delay :slight_smile:

thanks, much appreciated,

Dave

Seems like insert at , is not working properly, in other post i read , the Block Need to be inside a loop to work

What do you need ? I failed to understand sorry :confused: