[Template] Material Style bottom menu templates (free)

Hello Thunkers,

as a designer, I really love to see apps that have a beautiful interface. Unfortunately a lot of nice app ideas don’t look very pretty because they don’t have a nice layout and do not really care about visual and usability consistancy. Google created a beautiful Material design to make it easy for app creators to create beautiful apps that stick to the nice Android design, people are used to and love.

Since there are already a few more or less great extensions for sidebar drawers (I recommend Andres Sidebar V2) but no extensions for a beautiful material design bottom menu, I decided to build two templates for my future projects and also share it with you to use as a base for your coming up projects. Also bottom menus are very intuitive and easy to use. Even big players like Spotify changed from sidebars back to bottom navigation :wink:

Template 1 - bottom menu with icon and text & zoom

ezgif-1-93e1b36350

Material_Bottom_Menu.aia (322.1 KB)

How to set up / use

Actually setup is quite easy.

Colors

Just change the Color variables on top to the colors you want to use for your app (use HEX codes). To receive a beautiful look you might want to generate your colors at http://material.io/color and copy the # codes

If you want to use a dark on light color scheme you might have to change what colors are used (dark/light) in de SetColor procedure:

Icons

The icons can be changed by replacing the icon label text to icon codes from http://material.io/icons – if an icon is called "favorite", enter that into the label text field. Remember to replace spaces with _ (favorite outline will become favorite_outline).

Adding more menu items

this is a little more advanced because of the many blocks needed to create the animation / color changes. Also I would not recommend to add more than 4 or max. 5 items. Also don’t use less than 3 items: