[Resolved] Sound works in web preview but not on device (iOS) [Aug 2022]

I realize there are a lot of other threads relating to this issue but some of them are marked solved but apparently this is still an issue so I wanted to throw this out there to see if anyone had a true solution to the problem.

I am having problems with any block that attempts to use speech/sound to play. They all work in the web preview but when run on my iPhone no luck.

I use the play sound block with an mp3 file with no spaces in the name as well as the speech block with text.

I am a teacher trying to use Thunkable in class and if I can’t get consistency between the web preview and how the apps run on physical devices I am dead in the water.

Any suggestions/help will be appreciated.

Thanks!!!

FYI - I am on the latest release of the Thunkable app.

1 Like

Hi @mdaughertytee0h :wave:

Can you share a block example of what you’re doing?

Any chance you can share a minimal reproducible example? That would help us pinpoint the issue faster.

1 Like

Here are the blocks used. The “say” block is another that I cannot get to work and I included it outside of the event handler for reference. I know there is a long history with this problem so I am hopeful that there’s a solution out there!

Additional piece of info… I also tried this with a change to the name of the mp3 file so that it didn’t contain an underscore. This was listed as a possible solution in a different thread and it did not solve the issue.

1 Like

Hey :wave: @mdaughertytee0h

Circling back here. Did you have a chance to create a minimal example that I can review. Having a hard time reproducing this on my side.

If you share that I’ll take a look asap.

Here’s a link to my project. Everything works in web preview but not when testing on iOS.

in the text section, there is a blank block, drag it and put it in the sound name and inside it write the sound file name including .mp3

this might work