Extension development for newbies [off topic]

Extension development for newbies

Basic knowledge

App Inventor extensions are developed in Java, so a bit of knowledge is required. Developing extensions is only possible because the App Inventor source code is open source. Most extensions work on all App Inventor platforms (App Inventor, Appy Builder and Thunkable). The exact instructions strongly depend on your OS, but I will try to keep them as general as possible. I am a beginner myself, so any help and suggestions are welcome. This tutorial will give you a general view from newbie to newbie.

What software you will need

• Java Development Kit (JDK): Download here
  • Apache ant: Download here
  • Google Appengine SDK: Download here (Make sure to download Standard Java Environment)
  • The App Inventor Sources: Download here
  • An editor for Java code (I use Notepad++)

Maybe you are going to regret that later, but I decided that Git and build server are not needed for newbies.

Setting up your development environment (document)

Download the mentioned software above and unpack them respectively install them. Then set your Environment Variables. Under Windows 8 and higher do right Click on Windows Logo -> System -> Advanced Configuration -> Enviroment Variables. Add your ant and Java home directories to your path variable (use the /bin folder for that). Then add two new variables ANT_HOME and JAVA_HOME with the corresponding folder paths. Last but not least you need to add ANT_OPTS with the parameter -Xms512m. Detailed information can be found here

Things to notice

Make sure that the JRE and JDK are the same version. Make sure that your environment variables are set correctly. It is easier to put JDK, ant and appengine in a folder that does not contain spaces. If you do that, you have to add apostrophes before and after every path you write in the command line.

##Using Git (optional)